What may be damaged
For certain e-tron MY2019, Audi describes inadequate charging-harness sealing. Moisture could travel through wiring between charging socket and high-voltage electronics to the HV battery. The reported sign is Electrical system: fault; possible consequences include an HV short circuit. The warning text alone does not identify one cause.
Audi of America / NHTSA repository: Audi93E8 /19V434 ownerletter sample: HV Battery Charging Socket
Port, harness and battery are three inspection results
Record visible cover/port-housing damage. A separate technical finding is needed for harness/sealing; a trained specialist checks HV internals. Cracked external plastic does not show battery moisture. This article gives no battery disassembly instructions.
Diagnosis needs exact message, occurrence conditions, contact traces and known work history. If only the outside cover was inspected, leave harness/battery untested in the report. This avoids prescribing an unconfirmed whole-battery replacement.
What campaign 93E8 does
Audi’s sample letter prescribes a charging-socket wiring sealing package. The vehicle then remains at the workshop for 24 hours to cure the adhesive. This belongs to that remedy, not every adhesive job or an automatic new port/battery.
Audi of America / NHTSA repository: Audi93E8 /19V434 ownerletter sample: HV Battery Charging Socket
The repair record needs procedure, sealing performed and checks. Port replaced does not prove the harness operation completed. Normal indication afterward also cannot replace undocumented hidden-component tests.
After impact or water discovery
Compare accessible housing, wiring and mounting traces with baseline photos. Impact and production sealing may be separate inspection branches; recall presence does not establish a new event’s cause. If original surfaces were cleaned, specify what could not be inspected.
Which e-tron
This covers specified US e-tron SUV MY2019. The sample letter has a blank mailing date; it is not a dated repair of one car. Shared naming does not include A3 e-tron or e-tron GT.
Audi of America / NHTSA repository: Audi93E8 /19V434 ownerletter sample: HV Battery Charging Socket
IIHS tested e-tron quattro Premium Plus MY2019 in CEN1905. Later rating years/renaming to Q8 e-tron extend neither 93E8 scope nor proof of another repaired harness’s sealing.
Insurance Institute for Highway Safety: IIHS: 2019 Audi e-tron
Applicability to the individual vehicle
- Specific US e-tron SUV MY2019; other e-tron models not merged.
- A port-cover photo cannot establish an internal HV battery defect.
- Letter mailing date unknown; individual VIN campaign status not established.
Primary sources
Sources checked on . Model or recall information does not establish the condition of an individual VIN.
Audi of America / NHTSA repository: Audi93E8 /19V434 ownerletter sample: HV Battery Charging Socket
Applicability and source location
Certain US e-tron MY2019; undated sample retains MONTH YEAR placeholder. No A3 e-tron/GT/Sportback or all future Q8 e-tron fitment.
Page 1: sealing/wiring moisture path to HV battery, harness sealing package and 24-hour post-repair adhesive cure; document date unknown.
Document date: not specified in the source. Checked: .
Insurance Institute for Highway Safety: IIHS: 2019 Audi e-tron
Applicability and source location
US e-tron SUV introduced MY2019; CEN1905 actual 2019 quattro Premium Plus. MY2019–2023 ratings/renaming do not expand 93E8.
Driver small overlap CEN1905; actual SUV/body, MY2019 introduction and later Q8 e-tron renaming.
Document date: not specified in the source. Checked: .