Which Model 3 is covered
IIHS publishes frontal test CEN1906 for a MY2019 Model 3 Mid Range with MY2017–2023 applicability. That scope does not automatically extend to later Model 3 versions or every battery configuration. Body, battery version and service-document revision must be identified before a repair conclusion.
Insurance Institute for Highway Safety: IIHS: 2019 Tesla Model 3
When recording underside damage, separately identify the outer panel, visible battery-assembly surface, mounting point and areas absent from the pictures. A dented guard does not establish internal-module condition, sealing or electrical isolation. Do not assign a numerical depth without scale and proper measurement.
Battery damage requires a separate assessment
In Tesla’s public Collision Repair Manual, Preparing a Total Loss Vehicle for Transport directly refers HV-battery damage to TN-18-16-001. Its transport workflow also references a separate check under CD-23-16-001 and Tesla Collision Repair guidance where battery damage is present or suspected. This requires specialist assessment; it is not a battery-fitness criterion from an exterior photograph.
Tesla: Model 3 Collision Repair Manual: Preparing a Total Loss Vehicle for Transport
This article does not reproduce high-voltage isolation or disassembly operations. A meaningful technician’s finding should identify the exact battery configuration, assessment procedure, defects and prescribed test results. Vehicle powers on is not a battery-assessment report.
Missing underside inspection, information about exposed areas or specialist test results must remain unknown. No visible leak in one picture does not settle other damage types. General vehicle status does not determine repair or replacement.
Rear camera: NHTSA describes a mechanism without collision
In 21V-00D dated December 21, 2021, Tesla describes repeated-flexing wear of the trunk-lid harness coaxial cable on MY2017–2020 Model 3 vehicles. A broken conductor could cause loss of the rear-camera image; possible earlier symptoms include flickering or intermittent pictures. The report identifies a different harness design for MY2021.
Tesla / NHTSA repository: Part 573 Safety Recall Report 21V-00D / SB-21-17-008
The remedy depends on inspection: a protector guide for cable within specification, or a new harness with protector where wear is excessive. The symptom alone does not imply camera replacement. The chronology describes sample analysis, cycling and reproduction tests. That documents investigation of a particular mechanism, not post-crash damage frequency.
Tesla / NHTSA repository: Part 573 Safety Recall Report 21V-00D / SB-21-17-008
After rear impact, harness inspection and examination of other event traces remain separate. Trunk-opening history, cable condition and inspection data help distinguish alternatives. Timing between impact and missing image alone cannot establish the cause.
What the crash-test results mean
In CEN1906, IIHS separately rated structure and dummy injury measures: Good for structure and Acceptable for lower leg/foot. Do not merge these components into a claim of damage immunity. A controlled frontal test does not establish internal battery condition after a different underside impact.
Insurance Institute for Highway Safety: IIHS: 2019 Tesla Model 3
A completed account needs confirmed defects, unexamined areas and results of the procedures performed. A new harness or battery assembly on an invoice confirms the recorded operation; physical cause requires separate evidence.
Applicability to the individual vehicle
- No underside tolerance, isolation value, battery repair permission or internal damage is inferred.
- The transport page is not a complete battery inspection/repair manual; the linked TN content was not accessed for the accepted article.
- The MY2017–2020 trunk-harness recall is not extended to MY2021–2023.
Primary sources
Sources checked on . Model or recall information does not establish the condition of an individual VIN.
Tesla / NHTSA repository: Part 573 Safety Recall Report 21V-00D / SB-21-17-008
Applicability and source location
US Model 3 MY2017–2020 trunk harness; the report identifies a different harness design for MY2021.
Page 1: coaxial-cable fatigue; page 2: failure analyses and cycling/reproduction tests; page 3: inspection/protector versus replacement.
Document date: 2021-12-21. Checked: .
Insurance Institute for Highway Safety: IIHS: 2019 Tesla Model 3
Applicability and source location
Driver-side small-overlap test CEN1906, 2019 Model 3 Mid Range; applicability MY2017–2023.
Driver-side small overlap CEN1906: separate structure/injury ratings and compartment-intrusion table.
Document date: not specified in the source. Checked: .
Tesla: Model 3 Collision Repair Manual: Preparing a Total Loss Vehicle for Transport
Applicability and source location
Model 3 manual branch, total-loss/salvage transport workflow; not universal battery repair criteria.
Warning refers to TN-18-16-001; transport section to CD-23-16-001. Suspected battery damage requires Tesla Collision Repair guidance.
Document date: not specified in the source. Checked: .