A different family from Escape 2013–2019
IIHS dates the redesign to MY2020; CEN1910 used a MY2020 Escape SE 4wd. Earlier Escape2013–2019 information does not resolve a MY2021 vehicle. Identify body information, equipment and procedures afresh.
Insurance Institute for Highway Safety: IIHS: 2021 Ford Escape
Before describing front damage, identify engine, model year and equipment. Name the installed electronic modules precisely. Escape alone establishes no shared bracket, body scheme or calibration across generations.
Fuel near the engine: certain 1.5 L versions
Ford report 25V467 of July 11, 2025 describes certain MY2020–2022 Escape 1.5 L vehicles. A cracked injector could leak into the cylinder head, then through a drain onto hot exhaust/turbo surfaces. This thermal mechanism does not require external impact as its initial cause.
Ford Motor Company / NHTSA repository: Part 573 Safety Recall Report 25V467 / Ford 25S76
For impact, fuel smell or heat traces, record location and condition before intervention. Smell alone does not establish an injector crack; front deformation does not prove all underhood parts failed from the same contact. Other engines do not enter this branch merely through the model name.
What the NHTSA review means
ODI’s April 25, 2024 letter addresses RQ24-008 on adequacy of 24V-187’s remedy. It separates subject vehicles, including certain MY2022 Escape, from peers. This information request is neither a final finding about every fire nor proof of the review’s current status.
NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation: ODI Information Request RQ24-008, April25 2024
A dated recall, regulator request and individual inspection serve different roles. Earlier software/mechanical work does not establish a new event’s cause. Retained observations and appropriate test results are required.
The MY2021 matrix is not every Escape’s equipment list
I-CAR’s MY2021 research matrix lists separate camera/radar triggers, including glass, suspension and sensor-mount work, and collision for front radar. It locates OEM documentation branches; it proves neither installed equipment nor a complete procedure.
I-CAR Repairability Technical Support: I-CAR OEM Calibration Requirements Search: 2021 Ford Escape
Separate cover damage, mount inspection and actual calibration in the report. No codes does not measure sensor position. Check MY2020/MY2022 requirements separately rather than transferring the MY2021 table.
Questions still open
This article identifies no retained VIN’s configuration, individual fuel source or structural condition. Unopened areas, missing baseline images and unperformed tests remain explicit gaps. Completed repair connects each operation to a confirmed defect and a control result.
Applicability to the individual vehicle
- 25V467 applies to certain MY2020–2022 1.5 L vehicles, not hybrids/all engines.
- RQ24-008 is dated investigation correspondence, not a final or current case finding.
- The I-CAR matrix is MY2021 only, not verified equipment or the complete OEM procedure.
Primary sources
Sources checked on . Model or recall information does not establish the condition of an individual VIN.
Ford Motor Company / NHTSA repository: Part 573 Safety Recall Report 25V467 / Ford 25S76
Applicability and source location
Certain US MY2020–2022 Escape 1.5 L, exact build/VIN scope; Bronco Sport separate.
Pages 1–2: engine scope, injector leak and hot exhaust; pages 3–5: dated chronology/remedy.
Document date: 2025-07-11. Checked: .
I-CAR Repairability Technical Support: I-CAR OEM Calibration Requirements Search: 2021 Ford Escape
Applicability and source location
MY2021 only; actual camera/radar equipment required. Research matrix, not complete OEM procedure or fitment.
Camera near mirror and radar behind front bumper: calibration triggers. Actual equipment and full OEM procedure remain required.
Document date: not specified in the source. Checked: .
Insurance Institute for Highway Safety: IIHS: 2021 Ford Escape
Applicability and source location
US MY2020 redesign; CEN1910, 2020 SE 4wd. Article deliberately MY2020–2022.
Driver-side small overlap, redesign MY2020, CEN1910; test range does not grant repair applicability.
Document date: not specified in the source. Checked: .
NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation: ODI Information Request RQ24-008, April25 2024
Applicability and source location
Letter subjects: certain MY2022 Escape and MY2022–2023 Bronco Sport; peers separate. Dated request, not current/final cause finding.
Pages 1–2: 24V187 remedy adequacy, subjects/peers and allegations.
Document date: 2024-04-25. Checked: .